Leita í fréttum mbl.is

My town Kristiansand

For most of you a place where you call home is where you live.  Well here is a description of my town where I have grown roots as here I live with my fiancée and our son.  I live in Kristiansand the fifth largest town in Norway, with a population of 85,681 persons as of 1 January 2014 located in southern Norway.  I have lived here for more than two years.  Before that I lived in a small village outside of Kristiansand with population of about 200 which was my first location after my immigration from Iceland.The city was named after its founder King Christian IV in 1641. Many nick name "Palmekysten" or palm coast ( of course there are no palms here). Nick name is due to the fact that kristiansand is a vacation location for many locals and good tempreatures in summer ( most of the time). 

IMG_20120611_153158  street life kristiansand

 

Here in Kristiansand are located some of the larger Oil rig service companies.  I work at National Oilwell Varco as a project manager in vertical pipe handing.  National Oilwell is the largest of the oil service firms here due to the fact that it is American company based here in Kristiansand with 3500 employees here in Norway.    Kristiansand has what most towns have to offer with some more extras such as the country’s largest Zoo and the largest shopping center in Scandinavia (mall). The town is not very densely populated such that most of the inhabitants live in private homes located in two main suburbs.  

 

ny (2) IMG_0524

We have a small airport with some few international departures ( quite small actually) and train station down town. There is also a large ferry that sails between Denmark and Kristiansand daily. So transportation is okay antough the airport could have more departures direct to other european cities. Perhaps in the future.  For now we have to use the travel opotunitiese we have here locally with conections from Oslo norway and Amsterdam Holland (most common direct routes from here).  

The town center has some nice cafés restaurants both with traditional Norwegian cuisine and also international type restaurants.  My favorite is actually Indian Mother India www.motherindia.no and the Food Asylum Japanise sushi resturant www.foodasylum.com/. The town center is at its best around Christmas time when the streets are teaming with life of shoppers before Christmas ny (5)and in the summer when the cruise ships arrive.
   We have some many other towns; cinema, theater, library, a football team ( FK Start) and so on.  Kristiansand and the local area is also called the bible belt by many Norwegians due to many Christian parishes of many types here in the southern part of Norway.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kristiansand is a wooded area as most of the southern part of Norway and you do not need to go far to have a picnic with the family.  Think last Sunday I drove 5 minutes with my daughter took with us some firewood and hotdogs sat by a nice local lake in the local woodlands.   For the outdoors person this is heaven as from here you can hike, ski and fish just a few minutes away from my neighborhood.

 

 IMG_0752

 

Normally in summer we stay in the shore line cabin located just 30 minutes from Kristiansand and enjoy the costal life and in winter we take ski trips and hike in the local woods.  I have never been so much out side in nature as here.  Maybe because I like living here and enjoy the opertunities that I get to see and experience the area and place I call home, Kristiansand and Kristiansand municipality area.

IMG_3407

 

 

 

 

 bilde

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have not been so active skiing the last year due to infant parenthood, but I think that time will come soon. In fact I had never been cross coutry skiing until I moved here. Altough I come from Iceland skiing is not so popular sport where I come from. 

2012-12-29 10.52.58

 

IMG_0250

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here pepole have it in theyr blood to enjoy what the seasons and nature gives you and I like that.  Kristiansand and Norway is a nice place to work and live.   


« Síðasta færsla

Ég

Viðar Þór Marísson
Viðar Þór Marísson

 

 

Apríl 2024
S M Þ M F F L
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Innskráning

Ath. Vinsamlegast kveikið á Javascript til að hefja innskráningu.

Hafðu samband